Faculty Endowments

Faculty Endowments

Obtaining an endowed faculty position is one of the highest honors a faculty member in higher education can receive. Since the endowed funds are invested and maintained in perpetuity, they provide a permanent source of funding for the faculty member to use to support their teaching and research mission.

Donors who make contributions to support faculty positions often do so because of the ripple effect that person can have through the nature of their work, both in educating students and advancing research in their field.

Donors who create endowments often build strong ties with the beneficiaries of their endowment, sharing in the achievements made possible by their gifts. Because endowments are permanent, successive generations of a donor’s family often maintain these relationships and reap the rewards from the honorary nature of their endowment. As such, endowments are a highly visible link between the honoree and the university and serve as a lasting tribute to the namesake.

If you are interested in giving to general faculty support, please make a gift to our Faculty Excellence Fund.

Below is a list of the private gifts that have endowed a faculty fund, lectureship, professorship or Chair at the GSM

Arthur and Carlyse Ciocca Visiting Professorship in Innovation & Entrepreneurship

Established by Arthur and Carlyse Ciocca, this fund creates an endowed visiting professor position in the Graduate School of Management held by an individual selected on the basis of excellence in innovation and entrepreneurship (est. 2012).

Charles J. Soderquist Chair in Entrepreneurship

Made possible by a generous gift designated from the estate of Charles J. Soderquist M.S. 73, Ph.D. 78 to the Graduate School of Management. Funds support the faculty director of the Child Family Institute for Innovation and Entrepreneurship, whose distinguished scholarship in entrepreneurship and innovation is nationally recognized (est. 2009).

Class of 1989 Faculty Excellence Fund Recipient

Established by the Graduate School of Management’s Class of 1989, the purpose of the endowment is to support the Dean in recruiting and retaining the great Faculty we have at the Graduate School of Management. (est. 2018).

Jerome J. and Elsie Suran Chair in Technology Management

Established by a generous gift from Jerome J. and Elsie Suran, this was the first endowed chair created for the Graduate School of Management. The chair holder is a senior faculty member in the Graduate School of Management whose specialty is in the area of technology management and whose distinguished scholarship is nationally recognized (est. 1999).

Maurice J. and Marcia G. Gallagher Chair in Finance

Established from a larger gift to the Graduate School of Management from the Gallagher’s, the Maurice J. and Marcia G. Gallagher Endowed Chair in Finance provides support, resources and distinction for a senior faculty member whose specialty is in the area of finance and whose distinguished scholarship is nationally recognized (est. 2008).

Michael and Joelle Hurlston Presidential Chair

Established to support faculty salary and/or graduate fellowships in the Chair holder’s department, and to provide the appointed Chair holder a scholarly allowance to support teaching, research, outreach and all other related purposes. (est. 2016.)

Robert A. Fox Executive-In-Residence

Established by Robert Fox to affirm his support for the Graduate School of Management and commemorate his appointment as the Graduate School of Management's 2001 Executive-in-Residence. Funds support the Robert A. Fox Endowed Executive-in-Residence Program (est. 2007).

Robert W. Glock Chair in Management

Established by Miriam Glock in memory of her husband, Robert Glock, and in tribute to his distinguished career in business and finance in the U.S. Army and at the University of California, Davis. This fund provides a valuable resource for recruiting, retaining and rewarding the most distinguished faculty (est. 2001).

Stephen G. Newberry Chair in Leadership

Established by Stephen G. and Shelley A. Newberry, this fund enables the School to recognize an outstanding faculty scholar and support excellence in research on leadership issues. Funds provide an ongoing source of support for the chair holder's professional activities, including teaching, research, equipment and specialized materials, student support, and academic travel (est. 2008).