Newberry Leadership Award
Stephen G. and Shelley A. Newberry Distinguished Fellowship

The Stephen G. and Shelley A. Newberry Distinguished Fellowship Award, the largest privately funded fellowship award at the Graduate School of Management, was established by Stephen and Shelley Newberry. Mr. Newberry is Chairman of Lam Research Corporation.

This year’s two recipients will receive a $10,000 award as part of the Fellowship.

This award is for graduating Full-Time MBA students only.

We are seeking student, faculty and staff nominations for graduating Full-Time MBA candidates by Friday, December 1, 2017

The Newberry Fellowship seeks to identify and recognize candidates who:

  • Have a broad base of experience and indicators that they will be successful team leaders in business;
  • Made difficult decisions that were not popular, took responsibility, were accountable;
  • Demonstrate a great potential for leadership; and
  • Exhibit long-term CEO or COO potential

The recipient may not be of the highest academic ranking, but demonstrates great potential for leadership based on their experience before their MBA and while at the Graduate School of Management.

To nominate a student, please submit a one-paragraph statement that describes how your nominee embodies the above qualities.

By Friday, December 1, 2017, students, staff and faculty nominate one or more students by emailing the name(s) and associated one-paragraph statement to, subject line: Newberry Nomination. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

On Monday, December 4, 2017, Inger Maher will email the nominees to confirm nomination and intent to apply.

By Wednesday, January 3, 2018, all nominees submit their essay, resume and list of leadership positions to be considered for an interview with the Selection Committee to

By Monday, January 8, 2018, the Selection Committee announces the finalists.

On Tuesday, January 23, 2018, the Selection Committee interviews the finalists. Finalists must be available to meet with the Selection Committee during this time.

The Selection Committee announces the 2018 recipient in February.